Fresh prayers for our time, dedicated in memory of Jay Swartzendruber.

Every Moment Holy, Volume 2
Death, Grief And Hope
Rabbit Room Press
356 Pages
Douglas McKelvey & Ned Bustard

Due to the Covid-19 virus, the past year or so has been a time of sadness, of loss, of grief and ultimately a time of death. Yet even in this time of frustration there have glimpses of hope, peace and ultimate resurrection through faith in Christ. The Rabbit Room Press has just released the second volume in the Every Moment Holy series from Douglas McKelvey & Ned Bustard. Each of the prayers contained in this volume--although dealing with topics of sadness--are filled with joy and hope, whether it be for the one who is suffering or for their caregiver.

The book is divided into five sections: Invocation, Liturgies For Seasons Of Dying, Interlude, Liturgies For Seasons Of Grieving, and finally Benediction. The book is dedicated to the memory of Jay Swartzendruber and is built around the biblical verses Philippians 3: 10-11. This states: "I want to know Christ-yes to know the power of his resurrection and participation in His sufferings. becoming like Him in His death, and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead."

There are just too many liturgies to discuss right here but some of the topics covered include: For Dying Well, For Moments When Dying Feels Unfair, To Begin A Bedside Vigil, For The Loss Of A Spouse, For The Loss Of A Child, For Caregivers After The Loss Of A Loved One, and so on. Also included within the book are reproductions of wood carvings from Ned Bustard accompanying various sections. The one that struck me the most was of a bird flying towards the sun and carrying a banner that read :This Is Not The End, just above an anchor with the term Veritas on it.

Above all else we must remember that GOD is still sitting on the throne of the universe and watches over all things whether we are aware of it or not.

Chris MacIntosh aka Grandfather Rock