Since 1996

     Your Gateway to Music and More from a Christian Perspective
     Slow down as you approach the gate, and have your change ready....
About Us

Album Reviews
Movie Reviews
Concert Reviews

Top 10
Time Wasters
Contact Us


So Much More
Brett Dennen
Dualtone Records
10 tracks / 48:25

When Brett Dennen hits the road this fall with John Mayer and Sheryl Crow, he is sure to gain legions of fans, based on a listen to his latest release, So Much More. Dennen’s epic, poetic lyrics, reminiscent of keen social observers such as Bob Dylan and Joni Mitchell, feel-good melodies and unique vocals create a pleasing, substantial album that will win over music-loving crowds.

Produced by Kevin McCormick (Jackson Browne, Melissa Ethridge), and featuring a host of amazing musical assistants—Jim Christie (drums), Scott Thurston (Hammond B3 and organs), Mark Goldenberg (electric guitar and Hammond B3 organ), Keb’ Mo’ (slide guitar) and many others—Dennen’s sophomore album shimmers with brilliance.

Bridging the gaps between folk, world, pop and jam music, Brennen peppers his musically diverse, acoustic-based tunes with thoughtful lyrics. Brennen showcases his wordsmith skills straight off with the opening track, “Ain’t No Reason”: “People walk around pushing back their desk / Wearing paychecks like necklaces and bracelets / Talkin’ ‘bout nothing, nor thinkin’ ‘bout death / Every little heartbeat, every little breath.…”

Though he’s a prolific thinker (“There Is So Much More,” “She’s Mine,” I Asked When”), Brennen also lays down some amazingly smooth musical grooves (“Darlin’ Do Not Fear,” “She’s Mine,” “When You Feel It”). This impressive combination of superior lyrics and sterling musicality permeates the colorful tracks woven into the beautiful tapestry that is So Much More

RIYL: Paul Simon, James Taylor, Dave Matthews, Rufus Wainwright

Greg Adams



 Copyright © 1996 - 2006 The Phantom Tollbooth