Since 1996

     Your Gateway to Music and More from a Christian Perspective
     Slow down as you approach the gate, and have your change ready....
About Us

Album Reviews
Movie Reviews
Concert Reviews

Top 10
Time Wasters
Contact Us


Across the Bridge
Artist: Drew Emmitt
Label: Compass Records
Length: 12 tracks/ 55:38 minutes
Leader of the defunct jamband Leftover Salmon, Drew Emmitt has released his second album, Across the Bridge. What a delight!

Loaded with homegrown charm, the album features some fine first-class musicians like Matt Flinner (banjo, mandolin), Greg Garrison (bass), and Ross Martin (guitar). Guests include illuminaries like Del McCourey, Sam Bush, Paul Barrere, Ronnie McCoury, John Cowan and Stuart Duncan. 

Mainly original acoustic material here.  "Cross that Bridge" has an easy going, somewhat forlorn sound sporting a lyric full of tired hope. "Silvanite" is sharp instrumental showcasing everyone's talent. "Out in the Woods" may be what this album does best, combining  the instrumental and lyrical for a full aural experience involving both the head and heart.

Dylan's "Meet Me in the Morning' and Little Feat's "All That You Dream" are notable covers here. They couldn't be more different. "Morning" is  long winded and lacks heart-its potential is never quite reached. However, Emmitt's arrangement of the Little Feat track is very imaginative from the get-go.  Listeners are further captured by the spell of Paul Barrere's haunting vocals. Wonderful. 

Across the Bridge is a good indicator of where Americana, bluegrass and homegrown music is headed. It is tightly crafted music with a loose and welcoming feel. Come on home.

Bob Felberg



 Copyright © 1996 - 2005 The Phantom Tollbooth